Tags

, , , , , , , ,

IMG_1525

Aussie Awesome Volume Shampoo 500ml bottle

Aussie Aussome Volume Shampoo

£5.99/500ml

Buy Aussie Aussome Volume Shampoo from Boots

3/5 Brigitte Bardot ‘dos

After a very serious bout of bleaching 6 months ago, (do not attempt to go from magenta, purple and turquoise hair to white in 2 weeks if you value your locks), my previously thick hair has become quite thin. Not bald patches or alopecia-esque, but thin enough that I wanted to add a bit of bounce.

Having always had good experiences with Aussie products, (nice scents, fairly affordable, great conditioners), I thought I’d try their volumising shampoo. Admittedly I’ve only been using the shampoo, not the shampoo and conditioner, and I’ve only been using it for 2 weeks, but I’ve not seen any difference in my hair’s volume.

In many aspects this is a really nice shampoo; it smells gorgeous, it foams well and it leaves my hair feeling very clean, but so far it’s just as thin and as flat as it was originally.  Although £5.99 isn’t too bad for 500ml, when it doesn’t do what it says it should, it becomes a bit of a waste. It’s also a fairly drying shampoo, which is to be expected with volumising shampoos, but for someone who already has really dry hair from all the bleaching, I have to use a pretty intense conditioner afterwards.

I’m hesitant to give this a lower rating than 3 because I think it might be good for other people’s hair, particularly for those with limp, greasy hair who don’t want anything too oily. But for anyone with colour-damaged or dry hair, I’d suggest skipping it and giving something else a try.

